Curl Beauté: An Application With The Solutions To Your Natural Hair Problems

Curl Beauté: An Application With The Solutions To Your Natural Hair Problems

What Does Curl Beauté Have to Offer?

I recently participated in a project to build an app that addresses a problem in the lifestyle industry. The project aimed to create an app that helps women transitioning to natural hair. The name of the application is Curl Beauté.

Lots of ladies in Nigeria are transitioning into natural hair and don't know how to go about taking care of it. They don't know what products to use or what hairstyles to try, and they don't know how to achieve healthy hair. That's where Curl Beauté comes in. With Curl Beauté, you can get tips on how to care for your hair, learn about products to use, discover hairstyles that work for your hair, and connect with a community of women with natural hair who share their hair journeys. You can also check for the location of a good salon around you.

My Role in The Development Of Curl Beauté

I worked as a data scientist and also as a backend engineer, as my team did not have a dedicated backend engineer.

As a data scientist, I collected data that the application utilizes. For the backend, I used a no-code backend software called XANO. This was very helpful and relatively easy to use as I followed the software's documentation. The software handled the creation of the database and API, as well as the endpoints. Additionally, it can connect to an external database, which gave me flexibility. Furthermore, I was able to use CRUD functionalities with the software. It also handled login, sign-up, and authentication, which allowed me to focus on other aspects of the project.

The images above show how XANO authenticates users while they are logging in.

While working on this project, I learned a lot about backend and APIs. I also discovered that it is possible to build an application from scratch without writing code using tools such as Bubble, Quickbase, Power Apps and other software. Bubble can be used to create an entire application on its own, or it can be used as a frontend and XANO as a backend.

The project still needs a lot of work, but with more time and effort, I see it being a success. I also hope to participate in additional collaborative projects in the future.